The Road Less Traveled

 


White Bread made in a bread machine ~ recipe below.

This picture was taken in January of 2015, right before I gained 60 pounds of water; I am still 50 pounds heavier here than I am now. Selfies aren’t the best judge of character but it’s all I have. This all began with reading ingredient labels. I work in a grocery store and I knew a few things like processed foods are all over dry grocery, frozen dinners have NEVER been on my grocery list, produce is very important to me. But as far as reading labels it was not high on my list since I shopped the perimeter of the store for as long as I can remember. If you recall, I felt I was somewhat of a smart eater, so I was surprised to see what levels of sodium I was consuming. Salt is in everything, it’s a preservative and food just doesn’t last long without. So if you chose this journey, know you will need to prepare for this. Food in its natural state has very little sodium, fast food and processed foods are highest in sodium. So my husband, who has been a godsend, began shopping looking at labels. He is great at it, better than me; this requires a whole lot of patience. We can spend 2 plus hours in the grocery store, and after being there for many hours for my work week, spending this much downtime there is excruciating for me. I started tracking breakfast and this still stumps me. My favorite breakfast is toast with coffee, yogurt with fruit with my Kindle. Have you checked sodium contents of bread lately? Well …

  • oat and nut bread had 210 MG’s per slice;
  • butter has 82 MG’s per tbsp.
  • 75 MG’s in 6 oz, Danon Light Vanilla Yogurt
  • Coffee 5 MG’s per cup
  • Coffee Mate French Vanilla creamer 5 MG’s per tbsp
  • Frozen fruit 0 MG’s per serving.

So in the past this breakfast would cost me approximately 600 MG’s. So, I went after the bread, common sense tells me to go for the big number. I purchased a bread machine and began to make my own bread and here is my first recipe …

White Bread         yields 1-1/2 pound loaf

  1. 1-1/4 cup water
  2. 2 tablespoons unsalted butter
  3. 1-1/2 tsp No Salt ~ Salt substitute
  4. 3 cups white flour
  5. 2 tbsp of dry milk (59 mg’s of salt)
  6. 1 tbsp of sugar
  7. 2 tsps of active dry yeast. (4 mg’s of salt)
  8. Optional ~ I love Mrs. Dash, I use the 1-1/2 tbsp. of garlic or onion herb spice if this bread will used for dinner as well.
  9. I usually get about 10 slices per loaf so this would be about 6 MG’s per slice.
  10. Add the ingredients in the order and don’t let the yeast get wet.
  11. I have a speed setting on my machine and I will have bread in 55 minutes, this is important to me as time is hard to come by and cooking from scratch takes time!

I started on a zero sodium diet and it was awful, this took place reintroducing my kidney to food, having to deal with 1500 mg’s or less is easier than it seems. By substituting this bread for my old bread, this brought my breakfast to approximately 200 mg’s. I have found keeping breakfast to 400 or less makes my day so much better.

Here are some other facts from my pantry, if this helps you …

Item Sodium
1 Large Egg 62 mg
1 cup 2% milk 105 mg
1 cup coconut milk 36 mg
1 round waffle 383 mg
Simple Truth Organic Oatmeal O mg’s

Leave a Reply

