Reading Labels

I am fortunate that my full time job is working for King Soopers, a grocery chain, part of Kroger. I have the opportunity to read them at my whim, but my husband, who is my champion, is awesome when it comes to this. So become an expert! You are first and foremost the most important person when it comes to making decisions about you, so make this one area you will be better at. If you are anything like me, you probably think you are pretty good a watching your sodium. When people talk to me about shopping I hear all the same things I used to say. So don’t take my word for it, just start reading labels. I guarantee you, you will be surprised, I know I was and I no longer think I was doing a good job.

So let’s make a short list: (This is from the internet and my refrigerator, read the label of your favorite item to be sure you know the correct amount.)

  • Sodium, 1 teaspoon – 2360 MG’s (my daily intake cannot exceed 1500 MG’s).
  • Mustard, 1 teaspoon – 57 MG’s
  • Ketchup, 1 tablespoon – 154 MG’s
  • Miracle Whip Light, 1 tablespoon – 125 MG’s
  • Light Soy Sauce, 1 tablespoon – 530 MG’s
  • Ranch Dressing, 2 tablespoons – 240
  • Creamy Italian, 2 tablespoons – 460
  • 2% Milk, 1 cup, 135 MG’s
  • Subway 6IN, B.M.T. – 1260 MG’s
  • I King Crab leg – 641 MG’s compared to 1 Snow Carb leg – 54 MG’s, 1 Alaskan King Crab leg – 911 MG’s
  • 1 slice of ham lunch meat – 260 MG’s
  • 1 slice of American Cheese – 368 MG’s
  • 1 slice of white bread – 160 MG’s

Now let’s make a sandwich and add up the sodium –

Ham and cheese on white bread with mayo and mustard.

Wait for it –

Yes this would be approximately 1130 MG’s.

I came up with this by using the list above, I used the internet to get the MG’s, a few I had in my refrigerator and I used those labels, this by no means is this an exact amount every brand has different amounts of sodium so again READ LABEL’s become the household expert.

So, if you are on 1500 MG’s or less a day and you had the sandwich, you would be in trouble. I purposely put condiments on this list, and I will go so far as to give you a treasure hunt. Take the list go to your refrigerator or your local grocery store and write down the serving amount and the amount of sodium in the serving size.

Next topic – how to cook knowing all this.

 

Leave a Reply

