Cooking Without Salt … What’s on the menu

This can be very challenging … salt is in just about everything, fresh vegetables and fruit will become your best friend! The hardest thing for me is … my family likes salt; this makes it hard. My husband is my hero he is willing to try everything and anything, somethings don’t go so well. Eating without salt is an ‘acquired taste’. My husband cooks for us as well, so I have learned to really like Mrs. Dash. He is able to use spices that flavor the meal, where I just start from what I know. I love these for just getting dinner done, after work and not wanting to spend too much time in the kitchen.

YOU CAN DO THIS!

Tomatoes and potatoes, just don’t taste right without salt and you may just want to give in, but let me give you a reason why you should not.

¼ of a teaspoon of salt = 580 milligrams

½ of teaspoon of salt = 1162 milligrams

White Bread for Bread Machines:

1 Cup of warm water

2 tablespoons of sugar

¾ tsp of “No Salt”

3 tablespoons of canola oil

3 cups of flour

2-1/4 teaspoons of active dry yeast

1 tablespoon of Mrs. Dash (baker’s choice)

For Rolls:

Use dough setting, divide dough into 8 equal parts, roll each part into a 3-4in roll, place on a cookie sheet with parchment paper, brush with melted unsalted butter, cover, let them double in size, bake at 400 degrees for 15 minutes. (I covered mine half way through the bake.

What does this look like … using the above recipe I made my rolls, or this would be 200+ mgs per bun which is 15% of my daily alliance of 1500 MG’s. My goal is stay around 500 mgs. per a meal, so let’s create a meal and count those MG’s.

Menu: Hamburger, French fries and mango = 582 MG’s, exchange fries for Cape Cod chips = 407 MG’s

  1. Roll – ZERO
  2. Hamburger bun (don’t use from the store, read the labels) – 65
  3. Slice natural cheese – 160
  4. Fresh roasted chili, peeled – ZERO
  5. Mayo with olive oil – 30 (1 tsp)
  6. Mustard – 67 (1 tsp)
  7. Lettuce, tomato, sodium – ZERO
  8. French fries (frozen) – 260 or Cape Cod chips – 85 MG’s per serving.
  9. Ketchup – ZERO (No Salt, from Heinz)
  10. Mango ½ – 1.5

You may think I went over, but I think I did GREAT! I know this meal puts me at 500 or more so I save at lunch and breakfast, so the best piece of advice I can offer is “know what’s on the menu for dinner”, this is my main meal and everything else adjusts to make it happen. But … this is the meal I can control the most too, if I had a bad day of MG’s I can skip this cheese, substitute Swiss (35 mgs), skip mustard and mayo, (no salt mustard works too) and now you are down about 250 MGs, half of where I started.

Leave a Reply

