Carrots on the Stove

Yummy! One night at dinner, we are talking about veggies, my husband and mom commented their like of carrots, and then glazed carrots was brought up. Well that’s all it took for me to make some for my guy! But carrots have salt, and 45MG’s per serving, is close to the 100 MG’s I like to stick to on an item, so how can I make this happen? That’s 45 without being glazed! My husband has changed so much for me that I really wanted to give him this one thing, but if I couldn’t eat with him, this too would make him a little sad.

What harm could it do to look at the recipe (this is my first time making glazed carrots in my life), so I pulled out my “Joy of Cooking”
cook book. So beef stock about 580 MG’s for ½ cup, butter and salt! No way was this happening, but there was a recipe for Carrots … this is my version with my trusty cook book filling in the details.

  1. 16 oz. bag of frozen carrots 45 MG’s per 4 oz. serving
  2. Steam until your desired tenderness, I like my veggies just a little firm.

In a Sauce Pan

  1. Add steamed Carrots
  2. 2 tablespoons of honey
  3. ¾ tsp on cumin
  4. ¼ tsp of cinnamon
  5. ¼ tsp of nutmeg

Simmer until carrots are well glazed. Serve warm yes they are delicious! Next time I’m thinking Allspice may work as well, maybe a teaspoon. Not quite glazed as he was talking about, but he said this was a good substitute! I call this a win!

Leave a Reply

