Roasted Chicken Dinner

Yum!!! And my guy liked this meal! I have always enjoyed wonder roast deli chicken.  They make dinner easy, and can be used for many things. But the salt content is pretty high. Today I took the time to roast my own chicken.  I picked up a Simple Truth whole chicken from King Soopers with the intent of putting it in the grill with a beer. First time for everything right, I just couldn’t get past the grease thing, so in the oven it went. And here’s how I prepared it … Preheat oven to 375

  1. A whole chicken, Simple Truth 75 MG’s for 4 oz.  cleaned and prepared with olive oil, Mrs Dash Chicken for Grilling, and 5-pepper Private Selection Grinder.  Cover with foil and place in oven for 1-1.5 hours, internal temp needs to be 165 degrees.  Uncover and leave in oven long enough to brown chicken.

  2. Stir Fry Squash – 1 yellow squash, 1 zucchini, 1 onice diced, minced garlic, 1 cup frozen corn, olive oil, fresh cilantro,fresh green chilies (4) diced, pepper, garlic powder, onion powder, cumin, and No Salt.  For spices, I am aggressive with this this. I have want flavor!  Stir fry, I look for the onion to be transparent and than firmness of veggies.  I don’t like them to be squishy! NO SALT HERE!  Yea!!!!

  3. White rice –  2 cups of water, 1 tablespoon of unsalted butter, 1 tbsp of Mrs Dash Original and 1 cup of rice.  NO SALT HERE!  Yea!!!

  4. Dinner rolls, I made my white bread recipe for a 2 lb. loaf on the dough cycle in my bread machine. I divided the dough and made 1 loaf of bread and 12 small dinner rolls. 12 MG’s per roll.  I used 1/8 tsp of salt in my dough the summer weather is playing havoc on my bread, but as you can see this entire meal is about 110 MG’s of salt!

 

Leave a Reply

