Summertime …

This time of year and great BBQ’s is the hardest time for me to stay on task. The invites for outdoor get togethers and navigating through sodium creates serious anxiety for me.  Do I eat before, do I throw caution to the wind, do I nibble, where do I draw the line?  I always want to believe people will understand but when only a few people close to me get it and some of those saying when does all this stop, I no longer know  what to say.

The reason I watch this so closely because I feel miserable when I don’t. Maybe you don’t need to undestand it but just accept it as me and don’t get upset because I say no to something.  I don’t push this is on anyone so please don’t push your diet on me.

I like to find recipes that taste good and are crowd pleasing so when I have family and friends over everyone is happy.  I find the Mayo Clinic has some great stuff, visit their website – http://www.mayoclinic.org/healthy-lifestyle/recipes.

Salads are big this time of year, and the dressing comes packed (as most condiments do) with sodium.  This dressing will be on my dinner table tonight …

Citrus Vinaigrette
• 1 cup water
• 1/2 cup orange juice concentrate
• 1/2 cup canola oil
• 1/4 cup rice wine vinegar
• 2 tablespoons honey
• 1 tablespoon fresh thyme
• 1/4 teaspoon salt
• Pinch of ground black pepper
Directions
In a blender, mix all ingredients until smooth. Serve immediately. Place leftovers in a container in the refrigerator for up to 2 weeks. Shake well before use.
Serving size :2 tablespoons
• Calories143, Total fat 14g, sodium, 89 mg, Total carb 7 g

You can use No Salt or skip it all together.  It’s right under 100 MG’s so depending on what else I’m having I may keep it.  I find my evening meal has almost no sodium at times so I consider this a win.

 

Leave a Reply

